Reverting to Original Version of a Lab Notebook

The first time you click the Start lab button to start a lab in a course on Cognitive Class, you load a fresh copy of the lab's Jupyter notebook that was created by the course authors. As you many know, any changes or modifications made to a Jupyter notebook get automatically saved and a checkpoint is created.

However, one shortcoming of Jupyter notebooks is that, once a checkpoint is created, it is impossible to revert to the version of the notebook prior to the checkpoint. Consequently, if one is interested in reverting back to the original version of a notebook, the simplest way would be to delete the current notebook and download a fresh copy from the source. So how can we do this in Cognitive Class Labs?

This article will guide you through the process of reverting to the copy of the notebook that was originally created by the course authors. As you will find out, the process is fairly straightforward, and the images that accompany each step will hopefully make it very clear. We will use the notebook from Lab 1 in Spark Fundamentals I course as our example. The notebook's name is Spark_Fundamentals_1_-_Lab_1_-_Getting_Started.ipynb.

  1. Step 1: Click on the left arrow, next to the tags icon on the top right corner of the Cognitive Class frame, as shown in the image below.


  2. Step 1

  3. Step 2: This will reveal a pane with different sections. Under Recent Notebooks, you will find a list of all the notebooks that you have worked with in this course, as shown in the image below.

  4. Step 2


  5. Step 3: Locate the notebook that you want to delete. In the image below, our notebook of interest in the last item in our list.

  6. Step 3


  7. Step 4: Click the arrow to the left of the notebook to reveal the drop-down menu associated with the notebook, as shown in the image below.

  8. Step 4


  9. Step 5: Click the delete button to delete the notebook, as shown in the image below.

  10. Step 5


  11. Step 6: You have successfully deleted the notebook. Now refresh the page and click the Start lab button to start a fresh copy of the notebook. This version is the one that was originally created and posted by the course authors.


That's it guys. I hope you've found this article helpful.



Feedback and Knowledge Base